How do I get started

As a new user I am feeling overwhelmed on how to use LingQ. Are there are online tutorials? I am confronted with my first lesson and it simply only speaks the first word, “hallo” (I am learning Dutch). I literally don’t know the next step. Are you able to help.

2 Likes

I would suggest watching a couple “how to” videos on You Tube. I searched “starting with LingQ” and watched several videos so I could better understand how the system works before I got started. Having said that, I think there is a lack of total beginner material in the LingQ library for many of the languages. Maybe someone else here can comment on what’s available for Dutch, but you may want to do some sort of online absolute beginner course before jumping in to reading material if you have no background in the language. I’d be curious what others think!

1 Like

Hi kiwiheretic,

Here are

• a few ideas on how to use LingQ as a beginner, esp. with a(n)“(ultra-)reading while listening” approach: —www.lingq.com/de/learn/pt/web/community/post/4380195 (simply remove the hyphen before the “www”)

• my Dutch resources you could use on LingQ (I’ve been learning Dutch for ca. 11 months now):
    —www.lingq.com/en/learn/en/web/community/post/4899118 (simply remove the hyphen before the “www”)

Hope that helps,
Peter

PS -
If you’re a native speaker of English, you don’t need material for absolute beginners because
Dutch and English are close Germanic languages. In other words, the second language acquisition process is quite straightforward for you: simply start with the “Mini Stories” on LingQ :slight_smile:

1 Like

Not sure if you’re referring to a technical issue here. However, if there is an audio problem,
you can change the AI voices, see this thread: — Creating lesson audio only makes audio for 2 seconds

1 Like

When I try to visit that link it says the link either does not exist or is marked private.

1 Like