Russian (slavic) cases: Can they be conquered by mere language mortals?

Is it possible for those of us who are completely terrible at understanding grammar? Even pretty basic grammar explanations make my head spin. I got a book called "basic Russian grammar? Which is supposed to be a straightforward, no nonsense explanation of the the essentials… And it still doesn’t make any sense to me after several read throughs. I just can’t follow what the cases are, the genders, all that.

I’m not talking about perfection, but just being able to have understandable conversations in slavic languages. To my slavic learners: Have you reached a satisfactory command of the case systems or is it a a losing battle?

My german friend recently told me that learning all the cases and articles is impossible unless you were born a native speaker. I hope I can prove him wrong but it sure is daunting.

I remember reading those grammar books before I started studying Russian. I remember that head-spinning sensation that you seem to be having. Now, I don’t clearly remember learning the cases. The cases aren’t even the hard part of Russian grammar imo - the advanced word formation (prefixes, aspect) is the real headache.

Get a good beginner’s textbook and work through it, preferably with a native speaker teacher. That’s what I did. I used this one: The Way to Russia - Doroga v Rossiyu - Series - European Schoolbooks. Ignore the utterly ridiculous cover.

Your German friend knows nothing about language learning, ignore everything he says on the topic.

2 Likes