I am new to LingQ. I joined October 10th. I found out about LingQ through Steve Kaufmann’s YouTube video “How I learned Ukranian” that was posted 6 months ago. I watched the video around October 8th or 9th.
Anyway, I decided to take up LingQ seeing as it is very appealing. I wanted to use LingQ to really improve my reading comprehension in German. Thus, after completing the first 3-5 beginner lessons, I imported something that interested me. It was Nietzsche’s “Also sprach Zarathustra”.
One night, after reading, I went to bed with the tab open on my computer (“reading)” the section. When I awoke, the section was completed, and most of the new words (I’d say 90% of them) were all “known” words now.
So over the last few days I’ve gone through (the words) one by one and made them all “learning” around level 1-3. This took a very long time.
So my request / constructive criticism is this:
Perhaps there should be a session by session log that shows which words / phrases you’ve learned? One that you’re able to “undo”?
A simple way to make words blue again would be very great I think.
Perhaps there is one & the reason I haven’t found it is because I’m only 5 days in.
Also, how is it fair that because I have to re-mark words as learning, that I lose coins for the day?
I never wanted them to be “known” in the first place!
I’m negative 1,200 coins on the day now!!!
I also lost my streak because of this!!!
Despite this, I respect the power of LingQ and truly believe it is a fantastic resource for this!!!
It is a great platform, I’m very happy I am on this site!!!
I think a lot of people would love this feature. There is little more demotivating on LingQ than accidentally setting a bunch of words to known and having no idea which words they were. It shouldn’t really matter, but our OCD-ridden monkey brains make it matter.
It won’t turn them blue, but you can go to the Vocabulary tab and filter down to the course/lesson and level of of the word. So it might quicken the pace of setting them back to 1 or 2 or whatever.
I’d suggest turning off paging turns to known or whatever set them to blue?? I guess I’m confused on how this all happened while you were asleep? I wonder if that’s how that one guy on the Spanish challenge managed to read like a million words a night lol
Paging lessons automatically moves all remaining blue words on that page to known. We assume you have created LingQs for all unknown words before paging.
Automatic removal of blue words can be turned off in the Settings for the Reader. The “Move words to known” option is the one to turn off. However, this just means that when you click the complete Lesson option on the last page, all your blue words for the whole lesson will be moved to known. There is no reason to keep blue words. The idea is that you either need to learn them or they are known. (or you can ignore words).
Having said that, you can click on all white words to make them blue again and create LingQs for them. So, if you are reading, and come across a word you incorrectly marked as known or ignored, just click on it to make it blue.
Finally, if you prefer so, you can reset your language in your Language Settings - Login - LingQ
Hope this helps! Let me know if you have any other questions.
Lingq just marked about 600 words as known against my will. Stil la staggeringly awful “feature”. Also it said “it will mark words as read” so I closed the browser but it had already done so and I can’t undo it. Awful.
Hey, thanks for bumping this.
This actually happened to someone else recently too. I replied in this thread here:
Unfortunately, there still hasn’t been any official response from LingQ support on how to properly fix it.
From what I’ve seen, the two most practical options right now are:
Go through the lesson and manually LingQ the words again so they turn back to yellow (learning). This works but takes time if a lot of words were affected.
Reset the course/lesson entirely and re-import it. This is usually faster if a big number of words got marked as known by mistake.
It’s pretty annoying that there’s still no easy “undo” feature for this. Hopefully they add something eventually.
Thanks for responding.
What do you mean “reset the course”?
It’s a large lesson in a large course. I dont imagine that will work.
I’m reading it anyway but didn’t want this extra admin. Also, I need to read thousands of words to downgrade my words if I don’t want negative coins and to lose my streak.
By “reset the course,” I just meant deleting the course entirely and then re-importing the content again. That would turn everything back to blue so you can start fresh. The downside is it would also reset your known words and LingQs for that content. I did it when I was only less than a month into studying German when I made this post almost 4 years ago now.
I only mentioned it because you brought up not wanting to lose your streak and coins, which makes me think you’ve already put some real time into this language on LingQ. In that case, I get why restarting wouldn’t be ideal — especially if you’re past the beginner stage with it.
The only other option is manually LingQing the words again so they turn back to yellow, but I know that’s pretty slow if a lot of words were affected.
The fact is that there are a lot of processes that are run on words when they are moved to known. It is just not that easy to undo. We do warn users that this happens initially and otherwise, it’s really not that big a problem. Just click on words you don’t know when you come across them and make LingQs. The process is the same whether they are blue or not.
What if you moved the action of adding words to known after the user clicks on the I know these words button on the Show Known Words screen? Right now to me that reads like a confirmation button which makes it seem that only after you click it will the blue words be marked as known. That way someone who accidentally clicks on Complete lesson has a chance to go back to the text and save those words. It’s not very convenient to create LingQs directly on that screen since you don’t have the context in front of your eyes.
All the more reason not to do it en mass when the user doesn’t definitely want it - the current situation. Only advanced users would want many words moved to known. That’s a strange target audience by default.
Didn’t one of the lingq people recently post that they are finally going to address this (after years of refusing to do so)? So there is some hope, I think.