I am disappointed that Mait quit LingQ

When I studied economics and sociology, I bought textbooks written for American students. Discussing the situations of American economy and society is not “slamming” the country, and I cannot assume any responsibility for what I have not done or said.

She said that she was offended by me on 9/11. What I wanted to say is the same as what Kathleen Parker wrote. I don’t think her opinion is wrong.
" Muslims also died when the World Trade Center towers collapsed. To say that an Islamic center can’t be built near Ground Zero is to say that all Muslims are to blame."

She’ll be back, I’m sure.

I hope so.

Yutaka, you are free to comment as you please. You are never impolite or disrespectful.

I think offensiveness is subjective. I think more people, especially in the western world, need to be offended. Too many important issues are swept under the carpet in fear of offending. I will wont mention some of those issues in fear of being banned. BTW, great site :wink:

Thanks csno1. I believe that short of vulgarity, we should express ourselves freely here, in all languages. It is good practice.

I’m not so sure that Mait quit because of your discussion. She told me a couple of days ago that she was planning on closing her account.

I, too, am sorry to see Mait go. I cannot imagine that she would quit because of something that Yutaka, such a courteous contributor, posted. I have always valued and enjoyed her comments, even the most controversial observations (under whatever name she chose) and I hope to read her here again soon.

@ Jingle: should Mait not return and should you hear from her, please give her my regards. She is a remarkable woman.

We have only communicated through Lingq so I, too, will be waiting for her return.

I agree. I hope Mait will return in the future. She’s a part of our community, isn’t she?

So what happened…?