How much has LingQ helped you? Is it your main source?

How has LingQ helped you with language learning? Is it your main source for language learning? What other sources of language learning do you use? I am a frustrated learner of the French language who has a difficult time sticking with language learning, but wants to learn French.

2 Likes

In my opinion using Lingq will take you from beginner to fluent/very advanced. The only time I wouldn’t recommend Lingq is for complete beginners i.e the first few months of learning the language, in that case I would use other popular language learning apps i.e Duolingo, memrise and youtube videos. I have just hit advanced 2 and over 1,000,000 words read in French and the improvement I’ve made is palpable. I can now really enjoy reading books and fly through them and can also enjoy radio, films and TV shows without subtitles although I must stress I don’t understand 100% of the series and films. I am planning to get 2 million words read and the famous 40k known words this year so can report back then on my level of comprehension.

3 Likes

Hi, GreenGuy33!

For me personally, the tool category “content-flexible AudioReader” à la LingQ, Readlang, or LWT is crucial because such tools can take me as a language learner from the beginner to the highest, i.e. native-like level in terms of listening and reading comprehension. But, I usually group other approaches and tools around this “tool hub” when learning a foreign language.

However, in your case, if I’m not completely mistaken, it isn’t a good idea to begin with the “tool question”. It’s probably better to start with some basic questions first. See:
Entrar - LingQ

In my experience both as a language learner and language coach, success in learning something that is challenging (languages, math, programming, AI, data science, etc.) boils down to five things:

1. A strong why, i.e. a purpose: Why do you want to learn XY?