Finishing a lesson automatically adds them to known word but I turned this option off

Hi there,

I just started with Lingq. I turned off the option for adding all blue words as known words when finishing a lesson. But it still adds all the words to my known words. Is there a bug?

I already reset twice my language process to get back to 0 words and checked the settings. But it still adds all the words to known words.

Best wishes
Susanne

Hi Susanne,
As you know, automatic removal of blue words can be turned off in the Settings for the Reader. That will prevent blue words to became Known automatically when you move between pages.
However, this just means that when you click the complete Lesson option on the last page, all your blue words for the whole lesson will be moved to known. There is no reason to keep blue words. The idea is that you either need to learn them or they are known. (or you can ignore words).

Having said that, you can click on all white words to make them blue again and create LingQs for them. So, if you are reading, and come across a word you incorrectly marked as known or ignored, just click on it to make it blue.

2 Likes

Hi, I just would like to point out as a user I find this quite inconvenient. I may want to complete the lesson to see what is recommended for me to do next, but sometimes I’m just not ready or willing to read and create lingqs. We should be allowed just to pace through the content in a more passive way if that’s what we want at that time. Marking words as known should be a button a user clicks if they want to rather than this default behaviour.

1 Like

Thank you for your feedback. We’ll consider this in future updates.

2 Likes

@tiago-ribeiro. I would really like this feature too! We were discussing on one of the other forum posts about how this feature would expand LingQ’s uses, in that you can also use LingQ for extensive reading, not just intensive reading, which is what it is currently limited it.

1 Like

Hi, I just came here again to please, please, please ask to turn this feature off!! Honestly, and I meant it, It’s so so counter productive. Really puts me off keeping using the application, which is a shame as overall I can appreciate there’s some great work done here.