Discuss:why do you learn a second language?

Actually my first purpose to learn a second language(english) is that I could find a better job and salary in the future. And my major in college is also english. I have been studying english for nearly 10 years since I attended my middle school.

Now english seems to be my mother tounge, every day I use it in my work, though I still can not say my english is perfect. Once I dream I could be a translator in the future. It seems that most people studying english in my country have a similar purpose.

So I wonder why do you learn a second language? does a more language can bring you a better job or higher salary?

I’ve always been interested in languages. When I was a child I noticed that people spoke other languages and it bothered me because I couldn’t understand them.

I don’t know if I’ve ever been given a higher salary, but I suspect that my language skills helped get me in the door for an interview.

I have never been motivated to learn languages for utilitarian reasons, certainly not to get a better job, and I find pleasure in the task essentially for its own sake. I’ve tried to explain this elsewhere in other threads, but the truth is I’m not entirely sure why I’m attracted to them so much. I guess it’s like stamp collecting. I love the idea of “collecting” languages and building up different worlds in my head. Sorry, I know that’s probably a pretty pretentious and esoteric explanation, but that’s simply the way it is for me. Certainly my life would be no more or less privileged practically speaking if I had never studied a foreign language before.

The heading sounds like a school assignment to me: are you being creative, cajndon? Like Maitee’s, my fascination stems from childhood.

Do you all have fun learning languages or it’s a toil?
Is there more fun in it than to drink beer and watch TV?
Maybe it’s a vanity fair or just nothing to do?
How long can your passion last?
If not forever then why it dies?