Comprehensible Input Part 23

This is LingQ, Steve Kaufmann is our blogfather, Steve Krashen is our godfather, so we’re all about Comprehensible Input.

Me too. But … I keep trying to scratch an itch.

From Kaufmann and Krashen I had stars in my eyes (and ears) that all I had to do was listen/read/repeat a whole lot of text at Comprehensible+1 or maybe Comprehensible+n and I would absorb my target language as organically as I did as a child.

I started with that approach. I did absorb much vocabulary and a basic sense of grammar quickly. It was beautiful. I was only a few months in and I could read children’s books.

Then I graduated to young adult (Harry Potter), podcasts and a tutor. I realized, whoa, there’s a lot more to do.

Maybe I could get there with pure Comprehensible Input … in four or five years.

But I’m too impatient for that. I’m studying grammar books, I’ve got lists of vocabulary words including multiple meanings, I’ve got flash cards with regular verb conjugations and special flashcards for irregular verbs. I’ve got lists of interesting sentence examples.

I’m not complaining exactly, but I had hoped to avoid these old-school disciplined learning approaches. I’m about results. I don’t care how I get there.

How do others manage this balance?

6 Likes

Learning my target language has become a part of my life. I no longer approach my language learning as learning itself but more so gaining knowledge and enjoying myself. It is like I have replaced my native language with my target language and doing all the things that I used to do in my native language. My Iphone has audios from my target language (German). I have installed apps of German channels on my iphone. I have literally automised my language learning process. Every dead time goes to learning my target language.At the end of the day it is “quantity” that will pay the dividends.