Why no options for monolingual dictionary in language hints?

First of all, I want to say that I find the LingQ technique and really admire what Steve Kaufman has done for language learners by creating this community. I Honestly didn’t think much of the system until I started using it and found how addictive and hence effective it was and have just recently upgraded to the Basic subscription.

The only thing that bothers me are the language hints which are translations and often don’t seem to be entirely accurate. When I was learning Russian, I switched to a Russian-Russian monolingual dictionary and found it much more useful than a translation dictionary, plus it helped me to think in the target language rather than translating. I teach English in Moscow, and I always encourage my students to look up words in monolingual dictionaries to get the full sense of the word.

Now I’m studying French and I would love to do the same as I did with Russian… I changed the language dictionary to French hoping it would offer monolingual definitions but alas there were no hints, which was a big disappointment.

It seems to me that skipping back in forth from two languages just encourages translating rather than thinking in the studied language. I always try to think in the language that I study and I find the translations, while helpful, at times distracting.

Maybe I don’t understand something in the LingQ techinque, and if so I would love to be enlightened as I’m always open to new methods of learning.

“First of all, I want to say that I find the LingQ technique really useful and really admire what Steve Kaufmann has done for language learners by creating this community.”

edit and correction for above (I’m sometimes really careless when I type!) – Is there no way to edit posts - I don’t see an edit button :frowning:

Hi flupwatson,

Glad you like the site! No, there is no edit button on the forum although we will have one someday we hope.