When to Pick up the Grammar Book?

So in 6 days time I would have been studying Spanish for 2 months ( A long time I know ) and was thinking of starting to briefly read a grammar book on Spanish either when I have reached 2 months or originally when I had been studying Spanish for 3 as I would have acquired more vocabulary by then as currently I am averaging over 1000 known words a week, every time I reach 1000 more known words I will put the date and then will continue this.

and now that I have accumulated an okayish amount of known words I hope that is will be now useful to me than if I had just started the language

Look forward to your opinions as always

Some people are different. I started to pick up grammar books and read about the rules as soon as I started learning. I thought doing it as I went along was the most helpful for me. Many will argue learning grammar early on versus later. The ones that argue to put grammar off, seem to argue the more exposure, the more it will ā€˜settle inā€™. This didnā€™t work for me. With Russian being grammar extensive, I needed some sort of reference. I read grammar books and watched videos, and listened to a lot of grammatical podcasts. So, I would say both parties are correct.

This approach worked for me as Iā€™m about 90% accurate with my declensions these days. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Yup. Nowā€™s the time.

You donā€™t have to ā€œread a Grammar bookā€, but you need to refer to the Grammar book for some questions: why we must write so and not differently.
Some languages have more difficult Grammar, for example German or Russian, but even in these cases itā€™s better to learn some grammar a bit, very slowly, gradually and together with the texts and examples and not without them.

2 Likes

I feel like where I have accumulated a few thousand words and I am sure I will have reached 4000 known words by the weekend I feel like now is the time to start having a little read on grammar!