When should I move on to the next lesson

Hi,

Totally new user to LinQ here, have some experience learning Japanese on other sites.

I wanted to come here to learn spanish. Im totally new to Spanish. I dont want to get bogged down in the ‘learning how to learn’ part which I did in Japanese. I just want to immerse myself. In this vein, I just want to know when should I move on to the next lesson?

Also, on the grading of words… is this something that happens automatically or do I need to improve the grading?

It’s frankly up to you. There are some folks that don’t repeat any lesson. Others like to repeat. Or, what I found in the beginning stages, say when doing the mini-stories, or similar (like Assimil) I would repeat the lesson several times over the course of a day or two (not all at once). With each reading I would hope to understand all the words. After those handful of readings, I would move on, even if I hadn’t gotten all the words “memorized”. I did this because I’ve found that some words stick easy and some don’t and it’s better to just move on and not get bogged down on the words that don’t stick. You’ll add many more to your vocabulary if you move on. You’ll improve extremely slowly if you let the “un-sticky” words become your barrier. Also, I found that after reading a lesson a few times, I felt like I had memorized the story and therefore it wasn’t really useful anymore.

Keep in mind that you’ll see the most common words over and over in different lessons, so moving on to the next lesson is not the last chance you’ll ever see those words again.