What's it like to finally travel to the country where your target language is spoken?

I’ve been studying Portuguese everyday for two years. Fortunately I also managed to locate many native speakers in my hometown and hangout with them every weekend. In a month I’m finally getting to go to Brazil for two weeks. I have some friends to visit there. Conventional wisdom out there is you mystmus must go to the country to learn the language. Of course we all know you can learn a language without leaving your living room! But if you did travel to the country, what was your experience like? Thanks!

2 Likes

Boa sorte with your trip to Brazil. I have mostly studied languages because I moved to a country where it was spoken and/or had regular access to such a country, so I haven’t exactly experienced what you’re about to experience.

But one thing you probably will notice is that you’ll come across everyday situations while you’re there that you might not have the vocabulary for or might not have thought about before, especially if you’ve just been learning ‘for fun’ and using real material, rather than ‘by the book’ role-playing practical situations. Can you read a menu in Portuguese, where a lot of fruits, vegetables etc have names that aren’t cognate with the French and Italian names that have influenced the English ones (just to give the first example to come to mind, the herb that is basil/basilico/basilic in ENG/ITA/FRA is manjericão in POR)? Do you know how to ask for things at your accommodation, whether you’re staying with friends or at a hotel/AirBnB (extra bedsheets, an iron, etc)? If you have to go to the post office / pharmacy etc for something, do you know how to ask for what you need?