What does being fluent in a language mean?

Hi, I wrote the text below. You can read it and tell me your opinion about. I will have a native record this text. Then, I will put it in LingQ (TheDoctor’s podcasts)

What does being fluent in a language mean?
Hi Jarda,
I thought of you because you have been interested in languages for some time and I don’t know anyone who has improved in a language as quickly as you. As you know, I am studying languages at UWE and I have to research an interesting topic about languages. Maybe you could help me with my research. The topic is “What does being fluent in a language mean?”. I have already asked some people and heard many interesting opinions. You know, I haven’t given it any thought before. Also, I would like to ask you if you think that you are fluent in English.
Write back to me soon.
Harry

Hi Harry,
Thank you for your letter.
It is a really interesting question. There is an Irish guy on the LingQ forum, he claims that he can learn and become fluent in a language from scratch in three months. Unbelievable, isn’t it? He brought about debate on the question of what being fluent means for him. He can speak many languages, but according to native speakers in the languages that he can speak he makes many mistakes and sometimes does not even make sense. Ever since I read his post, I have been asking people about this. Let me tell you the opinions that I’ve read and my opinion as well.