What activities do you supplement your LingQ reading/listening with?

What other activities do any of you use?

I am just getting started with Lingq, I already do kind of you tube listening for street italian, I also do flashcards, I do parallel reading, and I get my kids to drill me on my pronunciation errors… really wondering how I might incorporate chatGPT into my learning!

6 Likes

I like watching the battle of narratives on news channels. Very exciting. lol

4 Likes

I enjoy watching content (K-dramas) without the use of LingQ (just to enjoy the language for what it is without constantly studying it) and reading books and articles/posts in my native language (English) about Korean culture, history, and language.

I also listen to and make playlist on Spotify of songs in my target language that I listen to for fun and enjoy the music part of the along while more passively listening/dancing/singing.

Things that will basically prolong my desire to learn the language and not get “burnt out”.

P. S. I also work with sentences in Korean using Language Reactor’s PhrasePump feature and observe the way the language is presented compared to English using duel subtitles with their extension.

3 Likes

Turning on the Finnish subtitles when watching English speaking Youtube videos has been very helpful for massively expanding my vocab. Obviously its not so easy without a decent base in the language but when you are just enjoying the story and collating odd words and phrasing the whole process is a lot more enjoyable.

It might be unique to Finnish but the words are phonetic… You can tell how they are said out loud by reading them

7 Likes

For German:
Listen to podcasts - Mostly Easy German Podcast

Listen to youtube channels - Easy German, MrWissen2Go, MrWissen2GoGeschisthe, Tageschau 15 minute update, other youtube channels occassionally

Watch German TV - Mostly Dokfilms, In Namen der Gerechtigkeit (lawyer based soap opera lol)

Magazine - Deutch Perfekt