We checked ____ the hotel as soon as we arrived

We checked ____ the hotel as soon as we arrived.
I thought the answer was checked “in”. However the correct one is checked “into”.
I don’t know if there is a phrasal verb “check into”. I looked it up in the dictionary of phrasal verbs and couldn’t find it. And I think “check in” is commonly used or spoken when we talk about hotel or airport, isn’t it?

Yes. I’m not sure what a “phrasal verb” is. I could probably figure it out and answer you, but I don’t want to be too technical and be wrong answering in that way. I should also add that I have never written these phrases before, only spoken them, so we’re really getting into the details.

In the example you wrote above, I would fill in the blank with “in to.” The infinitive form of the verb is “to check in” or “to check out”

“We checked in TO the hotel” or “We checked in AT the hotel” means “We registered at the hotel.”

“We checked out of the hotel” or “We checked out AT the hotel” means “We finished our stay out the hotel” (paid, bill etc.)

Now, to “check into something” or “check out something” have different means than the above.

“We checked into the hotel” or “We checked out the hotel” means “We researched, or looked into, the hotel,” as it “We checked into that hotel and it turns out it is too expensive and we won’t stay there.”

If you arrived to the hotel the correct form is: “We checked in to the hotel”; that means register at the hotel. And “We checked into the hotel” means to look for information about it. Both forms are grammatically correct, but means something different.

1 Like

To answer your question: Yes, it is. But…

As you correctly indicated, the standard meaning for ‘check in’ is to ‘arrive and register at a hotel’ (or airport).

But usually you want to specify where you checked in: at the hotel.

This is where it gets a little tricky.