Vignettes, short lessons that we would like have in the library

Stephen Krashen, who has greatly influenced my approach to language learning, recommended “narrow listening” as an effective way to acquire vocabulary and comprehension skills. What is meant is a series or a Course containing short lessons, 2-3 minutes long each, on the same or similar subjects. Let’s call them Vignettes.

It is important that these be of interest to the learner. Therefore we want members to tell us here on this thread, what they are interested in , and for which languages. This will give lesson providers an idea of what to produce.

Here is my list, to start things off. I am studying Korean now. I am interested in the following subjects for all you native Korean speakers. Ideally these should be done in an informal and personal style reflecting the views of the person creating the vignette,

1. Current affairs, Korean politics, world affairs. Your views or summaries of latest events.
  2. Famous people in Korea, present day or historical, in politics, literature or other areas.
  3. Diary 1. What you did this week, or today.
  4. Diary 2. Your views on the world, on life, or anything.

If we can generate some activity here on the thread, we may want to go to the Friends page and seek out native speakers of the languages we are learning and ask them to participate.

These vignettes will belong to the provider who will earn points from them, every month. Of course if we are really pleased with particular providers we can also send some points their way.

I am going to look into creating a lesson type called vignette.

Good idea, Steve!

I am studying several languages, but particularly Polish, (European) Portuguese, Swedish (beginner) and Turkish (maybe less than beginner as of now). Of course, I am also constantly improving all my other languages, so I would welcome the following kind of content in any languages I know at some level: