Too many clicks to create a LingQ with a manually input translation

Hi! I’m new to LingQ, so I may be missing something obvious.
I’m now playing around with creating LingQs. So I click on a word and see a list of the suggested translations. If I like one option, everything is super easy. However, if I want to input the translation myself, I instead need first to pick any of the suggested translation, click on the same word again (since the panel has already closed), click on the translation, edit it (or add another one) and then close the panel. It seems like too many extra clicks. Is there a way to make a field for manual input immediately available? Or at the very least prevent the panel from closing automatically and, maybe, even make it open fully from the start (with the full list of suggestions and links to the dictionaries)?

1 Like

You should see the “Type a new meaning” option at the top where you can add your translation if you don’t like the suggested ones. Are you not seeing that on your end?

I can’t find this button.
Screenshot from 2023-12-26 23-04-07
It only appears after I choose one of the suggested meanings (+ next to the saved meaning if that’s what you mean).

But meanwhile, I’ve managed to make this panel always open and expanded, so not such a big problem anymore.

IMHO this behavior only occurs on iOS since the last update, not in the browser. I agree with your request.

Probably, not only on iOS. I’m using LingQ on my PC, in the Firefox browser (v 119.0).

On Firefox 121.0, the panel expands after clicking on an unknown (blue) word. On iOS it doesn’t. So my question is: how pchuhaseraya managed to launch this panel always open and expanded.

Thanks, we will look into this.

Hi @pchuhaseraya !