Thoughts from a complete newbie

Hi amazing people of the Lingq community.

Firstly, I should introduce myself. My name is Kevin. I am from Great Britain.

I have no real history in learning foreign languages other than failing French at school. More recently I have a 175 day streak in spotting “yo como manzanas”. If anyone asks anything other than that… well I am lost :slight_smile:

I started looking for other options and came across this site.

My first mistake was going through lessons as a freebie user. On completion it would increase my known word count, despite the fact that I really know very little in the way of Spanish words.

In order to “resolve” my issue, I paid up and started going back through the lessons I had completed and moving as many words as possible to yellow lingq’s. Needless to say, I blasted through my casual target of 13 lingq’s a day :smiley:

I remain sceptical as to whether any of these new words will lodge themselves in my brain. At least I can hope to have a rough idea as to what the stories are about.

It is still better than repeating stories about the consumption of apples! :slight_smile:

Now to the questions:

Were any of you complete novices in a language before you came to Lingq?
Does the method of immersion work?

My plan is just to find small pieces of text every day, make sure all are lingq’ed (hence the reason why small bits of text is better), and then do a review.

Eventually I should get to a point where words are already lingqed and thats when I know I can move up a level.

See you in the forums.

Kev

3 Likes

Hi Kevin,
Welcome to LingQ.

Whilst I wasn’t a novice in German before coming here I have recently started as a complete beginner in Swedish. By complete beginner I mean I didn’t even know personal pronouns. It is a very different feeling starting a language from scratch as it has been more than a decade since starting German in school and that was in a classroom setting.