Target List

My main target languages - with my current level in parenthesis:

German (University, plus time in country; C1+?)
Italian (British A Level; B1/B2?)

Russian (Novice)
Mandarin (Complete Beginner)
Farsi/Persian (Complete Beginner)
Modern Hebrew (Complete Beginner)

(There are other languages that interest me - but they are down the agenda for the foreseeable future.)

Do any of you guys have a definite list of languages that you’re planning to learn?

Wow. Definitely use lingq for italian, they have some very decent intermediate material.

This year I’ll mostly be working on Russian and Ukrainian and as soon as I feel like I have a solid base in Ukrainian I will be adding Latvian.

I just received “Latvian in 3 months” from someone very dear to me so I feel obligated to give it a real shot. For those interested, here’s a sample of how the language sounds: - YouTube

It’s extremely melodic and grammar heavy )

Once I get to 500 hours of listening and close to a million words of reading in Russian, I think I’ll try a different language. Currently, I’m at 260 hours of listening and 560k words of reading. So, I’m about half way there!

I’ve been looking at doing Korean and German. I looked at Romanian, but there’s not a lot of resources out there. I think instead of Romanian, I’ll give Spanish a go, because there’s some crossovers.

1 Like

I can’t make out my level in the languages. So I can’t set goals as you do.

English… I can understand the Radio Talks - movies and many other things or read the novels here, however, I don’t feel well enough when it comes to writing and speaking. I want to get better in these fields.

German… Before this year ends, I want to read at least 2 books in German. One of them is Erinnerungen eines Soldaten by Guderian. I got the printed version. Besides, I want to read a novel on the LingQ.