Target Languages

I’d be interested to know which languages other folks out there have on their target radars?

My definite ‘hit list’ is: French, Russian, Norwegian, Ancient Greek and Farsi (and to improve my existing level in German and Italian.)

My ‘dream list’ would also include: Turkish, Arabic, Hebrew and Icelandic.

(Sadly I’ve come to realise that I will probably struggle to make very much progress with the ‘hit list’ - never mind about the ‘dream list’!)

I’m currently studying Modern Standard Arabic, Turkish and Hebrew.

I have already bought study material for Korean, Farsi, Swaheli, Thai, Dutch, Swedish, Hungarian, Polish, Greek.

I’m in no rush, though. Ganz nach dem Motto: Der Weg ist das Ziel. (The journey is the reward).

Ancient Greek sounds really interesting. Before that, however, I’d want to study some Latin. I never had Latin at school (went to a commercial type of high school).

1 Like

I want to improve in the languages of my ‘big five list’ first: English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and Arabic.

When my Arabic is advanced, I’ll learn Farsi. Problem is, I don’t have much time to dedicate to language learning for the moment…

My ‘maybe list’ includes: Russian, Indonesian, Romanian, maybe (it’s a maybe maybe list) Turkish and another Asian language. These are languages I’d like to learn but I need the spark that will light my motivation. The little something that makes you want to learn the language desperately.

2 Likes

I´m studying Finnish and want to improve it to a C1 level this year. In my “target radar” is also Russian.
Besides that I have two “only for fun” languages: Dutch and German. They are really relaxing to explore, when I already have knowledge of Swedish and English. I use them as “language-spa” when the grammar of Finnish and Russian drives me crazy.

My ‘hit list’ has become my ‘dream list’ over the years: French and Spanish to a high level, followed by Italian, Russian and Swedish.