Study plan

Hi all,

A little bit of a backstory. I studied German in high school and college, probably level A2/B1(ish) - which was 7 years ago . I started studying Spanish in January.

This is my general study plan/journey.

1. Every day, I study vocabulary for German Spanish for 15 minutes a day. I won’t compromise on this. I use Quizlet to study.

2. I try to listen to LingQ stories for German and Spanish for 2 hours a day during the week (1 hour each language, more or less). I just have it on in the background to get as much input of the language I can.

3. If I am not too tired during the week, I use LingQ for one of the languages for about 15-20 minutes.

4. On the weekends, I use Busuu (a great language site), for about an hour for each language and the 15 minutes of vocabulary.

5. I do watch some shows in German and Spanish, but sometimes I need a break from languages so use the English dubbed versions or I just watch an English show haha.

6. For 2 weeks, I change my phone to German or Spanish. It’s in Spanish now!

7. I also have 2 people that speak English and Spanish that I can practice with. I do have someone that speaks German and English, but she isn’t as available, so I don’t talk to her as often. So I use Tandem and HelloTalk to find a language partner - great apps, would highly recommend.

I know that I can read the languages better than I can speak or understand it when I hear.
I am trying to be pretty fluent in German by the end of the year, especially since I have been studying it for so long. I have been at this level for so long and I want to improve. For Spanish, I am “okay” with it taking longer to be improve, but I definitely want to improve. If I had to put levels on it, I’d love to be B2/C1 in German by the end of the year. And B1/B2 for Spanish.

I would love to get people’s thoughts on this plan and how people are using LingQ / studying in general.

Thanks!!

5 Likes