Speaking before travelling - Benny

(For those who get offended by yet another Benny’s post, please kindly ignore this thread and move on with your lives)

In his latest post “Why moving to a country may not lead to learning the language & what learners & expats CAN do”, Benny revealed a secret (at least a secret to me): In some occasions, he actually learned a language way before speaking from day 1. He wrote:

“I made the decision that I was going to move to Brazil for the first time several months in advance, while still living in Toulouse in the south of France, and decided that I didn’t want to slow myself down on arrival. So I started learning Portuguese then. Yes, you read that right I learned Portuguese while living in France.”

Apparently, you should still try to speak from day 1. But you may prepare yourself in day 0, day -1, -2, and so on.

Benny complained to me that this post is ‘pathetic’ and “makes no sense” to him. I reread my post and realized that perhaps I need some clarifications.

Benny always gives his readers a strong impression that with no prior knowledge of the target language (or with some but somehow it is irrelevant to the current mission), he will start speaking to locals from day 1 of being in the country, and he can learn the language in a short time (3 months or less).

In reality, this is not true. Take his “Become Brazilian in 3 months”. It turns out that he worked on his Portuguese for 5 months remotely and then followed by 3 months of full immersion in Rio.

When he claims to speak from day 1, he always gives people the impression that this is day 1 in the country. In fact, he means day 1 from learning the language. He also encourages people to make preparation before going to a language immersion trip.