Should I or should I not move on?

(sorry for possible errors I used google translator to write this in english)
Could you ask me a question? I started learning German a long time ago (2019) and yesterday I reached the 10,000 word mark, but my listening comprehension of the language is still relatively low, I only understand things within subjects that I already understand in my mother tongue but I still miss a word or two, so I’m a little afraid to keep advancing and this is where my doubt comes in, could someone with more experience tell me if I should keep advancing and understanding comes with time or is it better to pause for a while to listen and review the lessons I’ve already studied and then go back to advancing?

I thank you in advance (sorry for possible errors I used google translator to write this in english)

2 Likes

It’s hard to tell without knowing what you are doing (or not doing). Are you mostly reading? Without much listening? Then I would say add some more listening. When you say your listening comprehension is low, are you referring to content that you are reading/listening? Is it near your level? i.e. is it content that you can read and comprehend without looking up much? Or is it more “native” material?

10,000 words in the grand scheme of things isn’t much. So you’re not really likely to understand a lot of content above that level. tv shows or movies or documentaries…you’re not going to understand a lot of from them. I’m at 18,000 and I’m pretty much lost with a native tv show or movie without subtitles. Documentaries I do a little better, but still do not comprehend a lot. My gf’s German family…sometimes I understand some things, but still mostly lost. Getting better though! Many of these things there are times where I feel like maybe I’m making breakthrough in listening comprehension. Then, like this week, I almost feel like a beginner. It’s ok, I know I’m getting better and it’s all part of the process.