Should I focus on more efficient reading method

Hi all,

I started using Lingq daily to learn spanish in January. I have accumulated ~550 hours listening and usually can reach 3+ hours listening per day.

I noticed some forum posts saying to aim for +2M words read. Despite a full 6 months on Lingq I have only reached 110,000. Words read so far. This is an area that needs attention. typically when I sit down to read for 1/2-1 hour per day I first read the page with audio then lingq the words and increase the levels of any words I remember until they end up known.

Should I instead listen to the lessons passively then solely read them without listening when I dedicate time to reading?

Or is my method sufficient. I started learning spanish itself in October 2023 and would like to reach B2/C1 in October.

In addition to Lingq I actually have a gf who is a native spanish speaker and all out text messages and in person conversations are in spanish. I can see my level increasing over time when I talk to her and texting has become pretty easy. I am happy with my progress but am always looking for ways to optimize my approach.

1 Like

What I do, and what I’ve seen others suggest as well, is reading while listening, as in you start the audio and read at the same time. As for passive listening, I just do it at every available time, independently of the time I dedicate to reading.

3 Likes

Yeah I basically have headphones in anytime I can listening to spanish. And sounds like i’m doing the same thing as everyone else. I guess I just need to spend more time reading and reduce my expectations to how many words I can read by October.

1 Like