Should Beginners Focus on Listening?

I was reading “Effortless English” by A.J. Hoge and he advises beginners to focus up to 80% of their study time on listening practice. What do you think of this?
I can see why if it is a complete beginner who couldn’t even make up the sounds of the words in his head while reading, but would this make any sense past that point?

With language learning everything is so subjective and it varies according to the learner. Personally, if it were possible, I’d want to read a beginner leveltext line by line with both the target language and a language I know well next to each other with native audio too. Language is first and foremost sound so I can why many people emphasize doing a lot of listening right up front even when you can’t understand. That’s ok for a little bit if you’re multi tasking like doing chores. But if you sit down to study can you imagine limiting yourself to audio input only and not using a text? It just seems like you’re handicapping yourself for no reason.

5 Likes

I know there are people that have strong opinions about it but at the end, if you are able to know very well yourself, you build the way you learn languages around your needs, capabilities and situation.

If I learn a language directly living abroad like I did, I learn by constant interactions with people, few textbooks and working there. I learn faster, better and without any mental stress in this way. Now, with more knowledge, I would integrate with text+audio or text only to increase vocabulary.

If I learn at home, which is new to me and it took time to figure it out, I prefer text+audio all the time. But I might struggle with listening first, so I go with text until I increase the necessary vocabulary to put my mind at ease, and introduce the audio. Then writing and speaking as output.

1 Like