Seriously considering two languages at once. Here's why

It has to do with a system of study I used several years ago while attending college. I was a non-traditional student (working, family, etc.) and needed to maximize my time. I had acquired a cassette series entitled “Where There’s a Will, There’s an A” by Dr. Claude Olney. Lot’s of good tips and tricks for maximizing time and it helped me a lot.

One thing that I used extensively was studying two (or even three) subjects at once. A simple explanation on the theory behind this was that if you studied two subjects at once, say in 10 minute intervals for two hours, your recall will be better than studying each subject for 1 hour each. This is because you will have more "beginnings’ and “endings” (6 each) and we tend to remember the first and last things we hear/study. This worked great for me.

I’m curious to see if this is possible with studying two languages. I feel like it will if the languages are dissimilar enough, like German/Russian or maybe German and French or Spanish. Or even better, maybe German and Chinese.

It may not work though. If I start getting things confused I’ll certainly quit but I"m going to try it and report my findings. I’d be interested in your thoughts.

Paul

“Don’t just tell them to get good grades. Give them the tool that makes it possible. Here’s how.”

My God, I can still see John Ritter hawking the VHS tapes throughout my childhood in the late 80s and early 90s.

He said it would work in all subjects and he wouldn’t lie.

1 Like

Ha!! Yes, I had forgot about the commercials. i was desperate for some good study skills. I was an uninterested student in High School and never really studied anything very hard. At first I thought it was a gimmick but some of it was for real.