Revelation: The only way to learn is to study!

Hi everyone,

I am new here and would like to introduce myself.
I am a native english speaker who has been attempting to speak Japanese for about the past 9 years with little or no improvement.

I started learning in one of the usual ways by listening to some Pimseuler tapes that my older brother gave me, (he had been studying Japanese for a year when I started.) Because I am an audio learner, (and a sound designer by profession), I was able to pick up the accent fairly easily which gave me an immediate boost of confidence. I soon bought the “Let’s learn Hiragana” book and picked up the alphabet while I was at it. It seemed very easy and I could actually read some Japanese!

I asked my brother for a book recommendation and he told me about “Essential Japanese” by Berlitz as it was the book he used. I bought this book and dug into the first chapter. This is when I started to slow down. I was fine reading the dialogs and learning the patterns and phrases, but as soon as I got to the fill in the blank test portions my brain froze. It probably has something to do with some anxiety I have from grade school. I moved ahead of this portion learned a couple more dialogs and then hit the part about counting and telling time. Brain freeze again. Now this I know is related to my grade school days as math was like torture for me, and since then numbers in any language make my brain go all hazy.