Reading in German language

I am Asad. I am living in Germany right now. I am a full-time student here at the university level and downside is, my course is in English language. I have been here for 2.5 years and I lived a very lonely life because not knowing the local language. I just learned a few repetitive phrases that shop keepers say to you all the time. Just being in your target country is not itself enough. At the end of the day, you need to immerse yourself on your own at home with movies and reading books. That is one golden nugget of wisdom as I learned along the way.

Thanks to Covid-19 , not all subjects are being offered online so I have a lot of free time now which I am spending on watching TV series in German.

The purpose of writing this post is to gather inputs from other learners about starting reading in German.

Should I focus on getting used to the language and its sound system through massive exposure to TV series and movies in German. Let’s say for the next 3 months and then start reading books in German?

I am spending 12 hours daily watching TV series and I am very amazed within a week or so of daily watching TV series for 12 hours(7*12). I am picking up phrases in the right context because these phrases are being repeated many times.

I did not use any dictionary or did not study any grammar. Just relying on my brain to sort it out.

Since I have no audio for my German texts, I am kind of confused should I also supplement reading texts in German RIGHT NOW?

Your feedback regarding this will be highly appreciated.

1 Like