Question about changing account from Premium to Free

I have had a Premium account for more than a year, but I have been using LingQ infrequently for the past several months. Thus, I am thinking about changing from Premium to Free. I have almost 20,000 lingqs and about 100 imported lessons. If I reduce my account to Free, will I lose all but 20 lingqs and 5 imported lessons, or will I simply be unable to create additional lingqs and import additional lessons without making deletions?

1 Like

I would love to know the answer to this!

I think this was answered a long time ago.

I think you don’t lose your lingqs or lessons. But obviously you can not import new items (because you are beyond the 5 imported lessons) or make new lingqs.

M

You don’t lose your LingQs but you will have to delete your lessons in order to downgrade.

When you downgrade you can only create 25 new lingqs, which happens probably within a day! This isn’t the main problem.
(After my two weeks of using lingq, I still haven’t really understood what lingqs are for, or how they are generated.)

The main trouble after downgrading, of which nobody speaks, is that once you used up your 25 lingqs, you will also not be able to look up translations of new words in the lingq dictionary, which depending on your vocabulary proficiency renders further use of the website rather useless, forcing you to re-upgrade.

I thought a way around this was to just not use up 25 lingqs, but I found that this appears impossible, as lingqs seem to be created simply by clicking on a new blue word!

Can someone, perhaps admin, prove me wrong?

Yes, this question has been asked and answered before, but to my mind in a rather hazy fashion!

1 Like

Hi, Katze! =))

That was exactly my situation! =)) I made a starter 20 links that proved to be just hiragana letters in a text in Japanese! :wink: I did this just for fun, as I surely know both hiragana and katakana of written Japanese! :wink: