Patricia Kuhl: The linguistic genius of babies

Here’s a talk on TED I thought I would share. I’m a student of linguistics and I think this is far fetched myself. What do you guys think?

http://www.ted.com/talks/patricia_kuhl_the_linguistic_genius_of_babies.html

http://tinyurl.com/4hnk3ky

I am not convinced that our ability to learn languages deteriorates from the age of 10 to the age of 60. I have seen too many people. from unilingual families who learn to speak difficult (for them) languages while in their twenties or even later.

I do not doubt that listening to a human being live, rather than via audio or TV is more powerful for a baby. I suspect however that adults do better with audio since their learning process is much more deliberate than that of the child, with the advantages and disadvantages that this implies.

Let me live in Germany

Give me two German “parents” that correct me every time I mess up. Let all my friends be other students who may only communicate in German at all times.

Let me only listen, speak, and write in German.

Watch how little time it takes me as an adult to learn.

I think, if given the scenario above, one could learn a foreign language at a remarkably fast rate. Though Benny can’t really live up to his “fluent in 3 months” claim, he shows that you can learn A LOT in a short amount of time.

Notice in the graph, it said “Age of acquisition of new language”. The speaker then said “learning a second language”.

I am not sure how she can test babies learning a second language.

I think that it is easier for young children to pick up native like pronunciation. But speaking a language is much much more than that.

Ok, I looked again at the chart closely. The first column says “Native”, so they tested the infants on their first language and NOT a 2nd language. In other words, this column is irrelevant when compared to the other columns.