Optimal study per sessions per day?

I’m retired and I’m studying French. I can set my hours. Personally I find three sessions per day, 1-2 hours per session keeps me progressing without burnout.

If my job or schooling required it, I could do more, but that’s not my situation so I don’t.

Are there studies on this? What are your experiences?

3 Likes

I never felt anything close to burn out even if spent 6-8 hours every day. 5-6 hours of language exposure is pretty intense and within a year or so you will see rapid progress.
The only thing I will watch out for is lack of physical activity. I will keep aside an hour or so outdoors to get my body moving and get some fresh air in.
Language learning is not a rat race so enjoy the process as well.
Your approach sounds pretty neat without frying your brain. Breaks are a welcome rest to rejuvinate yourself and focus on your next session.

3 Likes

@asad100101 If I could do that I would speak 10 languages at C2 level right now. :grin:
Probably I’m very good on optimising my 15’ a day. :upside_down_face:

3 Likes

It is perfect. Just optimise your time step by step so you can see progress and result. It is not only the quantity of the time spent but the quality of it that could make a real difference.

2 Likes

Not aware of any studies. I think people are too varied for there to be an “optimal”. I think there are too many factors:

1. lifestyle - how much time CAN they devote. Do they have other hobbies, family, etc.
  2. Motivation - Perhaps they are gung ho to learn as quickly as they can and willing to devote hours. Whereas another may only feel the motivation to work on it a half hour, an hour, or less!
  3. Do they have a pressing need to learn (moving to a new country, new job that requires it)