New to LingQ and need help with divided attention

Hello,
I’m new to LingQ and pretty excited that this is one of the only apps that doesn’t test you like a college course does (I freeze when tested with languages).
One problem I’m seeing right off the bat is that figuring out vocabulary divides attention from the audio and video. I really don’t keep up with the video or audio well if I’m constantly stopping to click on the words.

Do most of you here go through the audio/video first and then go through the reading or read through, find the LingQ words and then listen/watch the content?

Thank you

1 Like

I think a good approach is to read first then listen…or vice versa. That way you can focus on doing one thing at a time.

Here’s a video I made showing my study routine. - YouTube

1 Like

Thank you so much!

I did what Eric does as well. I would typically read first, then listen, then both. Sometimes a few times of each, especially if I was motivated and liked the content. Back when I actually exercised (like 6 yeas ago) I would often listen to shorter pieces that I knew reasonably well on a playlist. If there were some sticking points, I’d go back and read.