Need Your help in verb usage!

Hello, everyone!
My name is Aygul. Im from Russia. Im studying English at University and writing my research paper concerning the differences in synonimic verbs. I’d be extremely grateful if you (native speakers of English because I need accurate data) could give me the explanation on the following pairs of sentences, pointng out the differences in the verb usage). im intersted in"abandon" desert":

1. He abandoned his wife after 20 years of marriage.
  2. He deserted his wife after 20 years of marriage.
  3. Her boyfriend abandoned her.
  4. Her boyfriend deserted her.
  5. We had to abandon the car because it was broken.
  6. We gad to desert the car because it was broken.
    So could you tell me if the used verbs are applicable in those sentences and if not why?
    Thank you very much in advance.

Yes, these sentences use the word correctly.

They are correct but I would normally say “abandon” in all of those examples. “Desert” mostly makes me think of soldiers abandoning their post. But also there are some terms like “deserted house,” “deserted island” where it just means nobody is there (anymore).
In your sentences when you say “deserted” it makes me wonder if there is additional context that would make it clear why you chose that word.

1 Like

Abandon can mean to give something up completely, as in “to abandon hope” or “to abandon a habit”.

It can also mean to give oneself over to natural impulses, as in “to abandon oneself to grief”.

There are also set expressions like “to abandon ship”, which can literally mean to leave a ship that is sinking, or figuratively to give up on a failing group project, for example, before it really goes under.

These are all ways in which the word “desert” cannot be used.

My sense from this is that “to desert” is usually less metaphorical.

1 Like