Necessary to read and listen to same content?

I know that the LingQ system is to read and then listen to the same content over and over again. I was doing this when I was a beginner complete at learning Portuguese, and I found this extremely helpful because if I tried to listen to even the most basic, beginner lessons without reading first I would be completely lost and not understand one word.

However, I have been learning Portuguese with the LingQ method for almost 4 months now, I now know over 7,000 words. I have found my learning method drifting though. I am now able to understand TV shows and video I find on youtube (I comprehend about 50% of what is said). I am also able to understand a good portion of podcasts I listen to, especially those with a single voice instead of many friends chatting together and joking around.

I find it very exciting that I can understand raw, real Portuguese and follow movies and TV shows where I can visualize what’s happening. I still find reading very helpful as I constantly learn new vocabulary and see new patterns of usage and whatnot. I have been finding very interesting blogs on the Internet written by Brazilians, for Brazilians on topics I find very interesting and find these native blogs very fun to “study” on LingQ. While I would prefer to always be able to hear what I read and read what I hear, I find that it is just not practical. The stuff that I am able to both read and hear is very limited in quantity and just not as interesting as what I can find out there. Nevertheless, I love the LingQ site to be able to import text, look up new words, save them and be able to immediately see when a word comes up that I already looked up.