My experiment: Learning a language from scratch with LingQ only

I have seen this question pop up a few times: Can you learn a language on LingQ from scratch? or Has anyone learned a language on LingQ from scratch?

If you have some knowledge of a language before starting LingQ or you know a similar language well, you can’t really say you would be learning it from scratch. Until not too long ago that was the case with all the languages I had been learning on LingQ, but last year I started learning a bit of Polish here and that counts as being from scratch, since I knew no Polish or any other Slavic language. Already being a polyglot is still an advantage but it’s from scratch nonetheless.

It seems to me a lot of people who try using LingQ from scratch give up because of lack of visual aids and game elements to dumb the learning down and a lack of independence. People aren’t really told what to do on LingQ in which order, which lessons to begin with, whether or how often to repeat them and so on and thus just give up. I of course have experience with LingQ, years of learning independently etc. so I’m not going to have that problem.

My learning has been and is slow, despite being a polyglot. I have lots of other things to do, including improving and maintaining other languages I previously learned on LingQ. It was certainly a lot harder to start with a language where I hardly understood any words on first sight.

What has been a big difference is mainly how much I repeat lessons and that was more true at the beginning than it is now. When I learned languages similar to ones I knew before, I didn’t like the repetition in the mini-stories, where it’s 1. story 2. story again from a different perspective 3. questions about what happened in the story. I found it very helpful when learning Polish though. At the start I would also re-read the mini-stories several times.