Minority languages

I just returned from a week-long vacation trip to a country whose native language is quite foreign to my own. The good news is that throughout my journey I was able to understand and communicate quite well. However, this was Ireland where the language in common use is English, so not terribly impressive. The bad news is the degree to which the native Irish Gaelic has declined.

We did encounter some Irish along the way, though most of it decreed. All road signs are bilingual, as are the informational placards placed in parks and historic sites by the government. I first heard Irish being spoken in Glendalough, south of Dublin, encouragingly by a mother to her young children. In the Gaeltacht areas of Connacht I noticed a few signs in Irish only. We had lunch in a small pub south of Galway in the village of Kilfenora where a handful of locals were watching a hurling match that was televized in Irish.

I’m no expert, I only know what I read about the Irish language. Its use as a first language is said to be in severe decline. But there is apparently increased adoption to some degree as a second language, particularly among certain urban classes as a matter of cultural identity. I wonder how that kind of usage might change a language – large numbers of learned speakers using it amongst themselves rather than with native speakers. Can they ever sound native and natural to a native speaker’s ears?

Irish and the other Gaelic languages are Indo-European, but it is very hard for me to identify any familiar friends in the bits I’ve seen. It’s very strange. Part of the difficulty may be an orthography that hides familiar sounds behind unfamiliar spelling. I did tentatively identify the root of at least one word by reversing the b->p->f sound shift described by Grimm’s Law; such shifts of course mask the familiar.