Metrics for gauging the difficulty of a lesson

I’ve been a software engineer for decades, and can’t help but muse about possible designs. So this is that kind of musing…

When we look at lessons, we see a percentage of new words compared to our known vocabulary. That’s a really good metric. I love that the site tracks all the words you know and uses it to guess at difficulty.

But there is still a lot of variation in difficulty that isn’t bound to that number. I know because I often experience a completely different learning difficulty–much easier or harder–than what the number would imply.

I wonder what else might indicate difficulty?

For example, the length of sentences. The use of words that are very rare in the language. The use of colloquialisms. Or the thing that kills me in Spanish, I don’t know the name of it… when you use a ton of common words that mean different things in different combinations. (Think how in English words like “get”, “take”, “lay”, “off”, “out”, etc. get combined)

Maybe too, there’s a machine learning approach that would capture all factors like this without having to explicitly design around them. Or even just capturing the statistics of how long learners at different levels spend on a lesson, and use that to predict how the currently logged-in user will find the difficulty.

Inviting others to muse with me. There is no practical thing I’m trying to achieve here.

1 Like

@ErikH2000:

Interesting to find so many software engineers here!

I’ve found the estimated level of difficulty of texts on LingQ to be debatable. Not that I blame LingQ. As you point out, there are more than a few dimensions to the problem.

Of course, it would be even worse if the level of difficulty were also calibrated to that of an individual at some moment in time.