Looking for some books to learn German Grammar rules

So, I started learning German yesterday and my goal is to clear A1 level exam in Mid March. I am looking for books that I can use to understand German grammar rules. So, yeah, I am here looking for recommendations.

1 Like

I have the Talk German Grammar book produced by the BBC, I find it very clear and easy to use. It is also cheap and compact. I agree with Steve Kaufmann that grammar is best learnt from comprehensible input, and a book should only be used when you get stuck.

I also have a Collins Complete German book. Avoid it at all costs, I find it impossible to locate the item of grammar needed, it is hard to understand and I’m sure some bits of grammar are missing. It’s a horrible book.

3 Likes

I recently downloaded German in Review book by Kimberly Sparks and it seems great to me with a lot of exercises for practice. You can check that as well.

1 Like

So much depends on how far you want to go with this!
I agree with the earlier advice that you should rather go for the “compelling, comprehensible input” approach of Krashen and Kaufmann and let the grammar just come along later when you want to achieve “mastery”.
Sadly it is so easy to slip into “grammar paralysis” with any new target language, so the best advice is to adopt the KISS principle [Keep it Simple and Straightforward] at first. At A1 level definitely go for the “shortest grammar book you can find”, as often advised by Steve Kaufmann. And that definitely applies to German where things can quickly get very tangled and constricting.
Assimil German is a reasonably straightforward approach to the basics if you want a book, so that you can do something on a daily basis in “bite size chunks” and the grammar explanations are very good.