Lives of translators

Hey everyone, so I am studying language interpretation in college right now but was always curious about the translation profession. For those here who are translators what is life as a translator usually like? What I mean is for a translator what is a typical schedule usually like?

Thanks.

Hi landho. Talking about this subject, Robert has some great videos on his youtube channel. Here is the link to one of them:

He even has some videos where he is in action in the interpreter booth and everything; really good and cool to watch.
Greetings

Thanks but he is talking about interpretation, I wanted to know about what it is like working as a translator, as in for instance a translator who translates through a publisher, or professionally translates documents, etc.

ad landho:

You are right, in my videos I only talk about my work as an interpreter. If you work as a translator your daily routine will mostly depend on the type of translations you do and the kind of clients you work for. I used to work for the European Patent Office for about 10 years and during that time I sometimes had to hand in translations the same day and sometimes I was given a deadline of one month. I now mostly work for law firms (as a translator). These people are always under a lot of time pressure and this certainly also has an impact on your schedule as a translator.

I normally try to limit the time in front of the computer to 8 to 10 hours a day, but I sometimes have to work 14 hours a day, on weekends and on holidays. Due to different time zones it may be necessary for me to get up at 4 am my local time to be able to finish a translation that I need to hand in at 8 am local time of my customer.