Let's chat

Some people asked for a chat room. Now here it is!

I present the English LingQ chat room opened for everyone.

It’s a nice day in Germany. There are some clouds, but the sky is blue, and sometimes the sun is shining. I think, spring is coming. Now I will check my mails, and learn my vocabulary.

You had a good idea again! No work for for the programmer :slight_smile:

Yes, you know, I’m a programmer and an organizer. So it is my job to find solutions without having extra costs :wink:

Here in Vancouver it is cloudy and raining. But for a few hours when the sun peeks though, it is very pleasant and spring-like.

Anybody reading any good books or websites lately. In any language?

I love reading a discussion site called trees and things: www.treesandthings.com It has an American focus but many of the issues discussed there are international and there are many people who comment regularly and become like virtual friends. The issues discussed vary from politics to medicine, technology, etc. It is interesting if you are the type who likes to read and discuss the newspapers everyday.

I am also getting into a French translation of The Two Solitudes. It is a Canadian novel about the relationship between the French and English in Canada. I read it in English many years ago and I just picked up a French copy.

Great idea Vera. I hope more English learners use this as a place to communicate in English. They can easily submit what they write for correction, too. When, one day, we enable members to easily record themselves, we might turn this all into learning content.

I am reading a history of the 30 years war (1618-1648) by C.V. Chippendale

Ever since my visit to Germany I have been interested in German history. The death and destruction wrought in the name of ambition, religion, and intrigue, is just amazing.

How should I find the time, to do this too :wink: