Learning German

Hello, my level in German is about A2 and I would like to take it to the next level.
I’ve been studying on lingq for about 8 months now and there is a noticeable improvement in my German, However, I’d like to know from people who reached a high level of German on lingq how did they exactly do it and how did they approach each lesson because I feel overwhelmed from the huge amount of content there is even though that this should be a good thing but I just need guidance on how to make the best use of the content available on lingq.
Also, how many times should I listen and repeat a lesson before I move on to the next one, and should I write down every vocabulary in a notebook or is the lingq system enough for me to memorize the vocab.
Thanks.

3 Likes

Hopefully someone will share their experience, with learning German on LingQ, with you. :slight_smile:

If you’re a beginner, go through beginner content such as the Mini Stories by reading while listening and repeating out loud sentence by sentence. Do this a few times for each lesson and move to the next lesson.

Memorizing is not necessary.

Once you get to intermediate, start reading and listening to books – ideally ones you can have the translated text for so you can compare the text.

After a couple of books you can ditch the translated text version and just use the LingQ interface to translate unknown words or sentences for context.

While you’re doing this, start re-listening to audiobooks on your spare time – then start listening to new audiobooks and podcasts.

Watch TV in German with NL subs first, then move to TL subs, then no subs.

Keep reading and listening to books until you reach Advanced 2 on LingQ.

Get speaking practice on iTalki or language exchanges.

7 Likes

You have already had some incredibly useful advice from t_harangi, which I am sure will encourage you on the journey.