Learning Chinese with Lingq

I’ve been living in China for the past four years but, rather shamefully, have only recently started taking Chinese language learning seriously. I decided a few months ago that the prospect of reaching the five-year landmark without a fairly fluent level of Chinese was too terrible to bear and, from that point on, set about trying to reach that goal. Until I’ve built a solid foundation for the lifetime of learning that Chinese will require, I’m also tied to this place (Beijing) despite sometimes desperately wanting to return for a while so pretty much everything - my entire happiness and wellbeing - depends on this.

I already speak several other languages fluently (French, Portuguese and Spanish as well as my native language, English) and, after so much time here, I’m not a complete beginner in Chinese either. Despite little to no formal study, I’ve learnt a lot just from being in a Chinese environment and can function on a day-to-day basis, albeit haltingly and like a child, with little difficulty. For example, I’m very familiar with the tones, have amassed a vast vocabulary of spoken Chinese and I’m also familiar with the 100 most commonly-used radicals though my grammar is appalling.

I just paid for Premium membership and, I have to say, I’m very confused.

Here are my observations and questions so far. Feedback would be appreciated.

1. Maybe I just don’t understand the system yet but it all seems a bit of a mess. The fact that random users can just import lessons means that there appears to be little to no quality control. The majority of the lessons I have seen, even the beginner ones, don’t even have an English translation so sometimes I’m completely stumped as to the meaning of a sentence - despite breaking down each one word-for-word. Google Translate is a very poor substitute.

Question #1: How do I ascertain the meaning of a phrase with no proper English translation counterpart?