Learning 2 languages at the same time

Hello everyone,

First, I love Lingq and I completely agree with your idea of learning languages Steve.

I’m a French student and next year I will have to take classes of 2 languages (I’m obliged) and I was wondering if it would be manageable to start 2 new foreign languages at the same time ?

I already speak English, Spanish, a bit of Arabic and French obviously. I just started learning German 2 weeks ago with Lingq and I will take a beginner course next year (I don’t want to but I have to).

But recently, I learned that it is compulsory that I attend 2 language classes next year. I could choose English classes but it will really be boring… And before deciding to go for German next year, I was hesitating with Russian. So now I’m just wondering, why not the 2 at the same time ???

What do you think ? How could I spread the time between both ? Will it be too much confusing ? Take a lot of time ? Steve, did you already experienced that situation ?

Thanks for any advice,
Lucas

Two rather difficult languages… You make big challenge to yourself :slight_smile:

At least one should say that German and Russian are very diiferent from each other, so that wll be less confusing than if you choose 2 roman languages simultaneously :slight_smile:

When I first applied for admission to University I had to take 2 qualifying courses before I could be admitted full-time, since I was applying as a mature student without a high-school diploma. I chose to study Introductory Spanish 1 & 2 and Introductory German 1 & 2 at the same time and was enrolled in a 6 week intensive summer program. We had class 2 hours per day in each language every day, 5 days per week x 6 weeks. I started with German at 8:00 til 10:00 AM and then went to Spanish at 10:00 AM til 12:00!