Korean Hangeul but no romanisation

Hello, I’ve been learning on my own Chinese from basicly only lingq from the past 5 months (800 ish words.) I really like the website and i tought that the chinese way with actual ‘‘pinyin’’ or chinese romanisation was standard on the website… I really wanted to begin korean as a mean to fuel my hobby, but theirs no equivalent of that, but i foud actual romanising webtool from korean to latin. Will this feature be implemented at some time? From the time being i will study the letters and move from there. I tend to pick things quicly but the fact that i will need to do extra stp for a while stir me away from the whole thing. I’ll come round at some point but i’d be nice if it has that feature!

Yeah, we don’t have romanization for Korean. I am not an expert for Asian languages, but if I remember properly that’s because Korean Hangul isn’t that hard to learn and is much easier compared to Japanese and especially Chinese.
I’ll check this and let you know.

Don’t bother with romanization because there are several systems and none of them are good or truly accepted as a standard. The Korean alphabet is very simple and there is no reason to learn a romanized version of it. Let me put it this way, when I was learning Greek, there was no point in trying to learn some romanized version of the Greek alphabet. You just learn the Greek alphabet. Hangul is even easier to learn (no capitals and lowercase . . .). Check out Talk to me in Korean, Korean Class 101, or How to Study Korean to find it.

1 Like