I've been studying Russian for 5 months now and am new to Lingq

I have been watching Steve Kauffman’s videos on youtube, and he says that the best way to learn new vocabulary is to read it through exposure to the language, which Lingq offers.

However, I do have a question. A few questions, in fact.

Should I start out at a level or two above mine so that I can maximize my exposure without overwhelming myself at too high of a level? Or should I read the manuscripts on lingq at my own level?

What should I do when I come across a page in Russian in which I can’t understand 70-90% of the words? Is it effective to translate each word? It’s really discouraging to see things like this because I don’t really know what the best method to approach this is and I feel like I’m doing myself a disservice translating each word. Albeit, I do have a Google chrome extension called TransOver where I can merely hover my mouse over the word and it automatically translate the word.

If you can find interesting material at your present level, just read as much as possible and have fun. After that, continue at a level a little above your present level. If you come across a page in Russian in which you can’t understand 70-90% of the words, you could use Google Translate for that page.

We have a very big choice of the Russian lessons here.
I’ve written more than 1200 Russian lessons and articles for different levels from A1 to C2 for 9 years of my membership in lingq.com. And I’m not the only provider.
You can just go to the library and choose the level that suits you and the content that is interesting for you.
If you had a break in your study, I recommend you to use at the same time an interesting lesson with 25% of the known words to go ahead and some easier lessons from my beginner’s courseS РУССКИЙ С НУЛЯ (96 lessons) and ПЕРВЫЕ ШАГИ (125 lessons) to repeat the main rules and the most popular vocabulary.

3 Likes