Is there a polyglot willing to answer a question about a third language?

I had been studying Spanish for several years before I found LingQ (~2 years ago) and really began making headway, using advanced materials right away, against my roadblocks to fluency. I made it over that hump and began learning French. In French, I found the Mini Stories extremely helpful and have listened to all of them at least a dozen times (so far).

Yesterday I was with a group of Hispanohablantes and found myself fumbling for words and structures that I have been comfortable with for years. (I know that this is normal when learning a third language.) I decided to go back and listen to the Mini Stories in Spanish. Wow, did that ever mess with my brain! By the third story, I was getting worried that this would compound and confound the issue rather than help it.

What do you think?

2 Likes

There are probably different situations for different people.

I can personally tell you that each time you add a new language, your brain will need a period of time to adjust all languages you have.

My suggestion is to learn a new language when you are solid in the languages you already have learnt. For me, this means to reach at least something in between C1 and C2. I prefer a C2 level, but let’s say something in the middle of it. The reason is because with time, you will lose that C2, but you will stay around a C1 without any problem.

When you add a new language, if the others you have are solid, you won’t lose too much of them, and you will keep a high level of fluency, or comfort, in every aspect of those languages.

There is a phase where your brain will mix spelling, or grammar, or other things, even with your own native language. But then it will stabilise, the new structure will be integrated, and you will be fine to progress from there.

However, the other languages should be in maintenance mode, and your main focus will go to your new language for a while.