Intermediate 1 and a 548 day streak

I’ll have been studying Russian for 3 years in January, I reached Intermediate 1 a few days ago and have a 548-day streak. While the 3 years of study have been on and off, I’ve completed the 548-day streak without missing a single day, i.e. no repairs were used. While there are a lot of usual suspects for language learning, I’ve tried to limit this list to some of my more unique recommendations:

1. Spend the time to learn to touch type in Cyrillic early. Since you’ll be slow in the beginning, typing slowly won’t slow you down that much more. I started learning to type almost immediately, and it is a skill that’s paid off massively.

2. Learn cursive. Some of the letters are faster and easier to write in cursive, for example, д and ш. At this point, I use a mix of cursive and print letters which allows me to write a lot faster than if I hadn’t learned the cursive versions of the letters.

3. Set LingQ to the lowest goal setting and use that as your “minimum” for the day. I may not have done a lot every single day for 548 days, but I was consistent. Even if I “didn’t have time,” I could still manage 50 coins in a few minutes. Sometimes, that minimum would turn into much more.

4. Don’t wait to learn grammar. I’m not saying that it needs to be the focus of your study, but it’s something that can help you recognize the different forms of the same word. And, more importantly, it will help you understand more complicated material faster because you’ll have a better understanding of how the words in the sentence interact to create something meaningful. In some cases, understanding grammar may be the difference between understanding every word in the sentence and understanding the sentence.