Intellectual property

Hello. Not knowing what I can or can´t do prevents me from sharing the lessons I create. So I would like to know if I can release the following:

a) chapters of a book with (or without) the corresponding audiobook part.
b) lyrics with the corresponding songs

I would be curious to know If we can import song lyrics (text only) and then record our own audio (ie, myself reading the lyrics)

@kyleleitch I understand that you are allowed to do so if it is for private use, but I am not an expert in copyright law!

@brunort6 I understand that people share things privately, but … no expert in copyright law!

I tend to respect copyright law, not only because I know how hard it is for some artists to make a living.

@Kyleleitch as long as you sing well. ahah just kidding

Haha!

Well in that case I’m in trouble!

I find this a difficult issue, too. And what about texts from websites where the audio still has to be recorded. Very often websites have links to share their content on social networks but at the same time there’s a “Copyright by …”. I’ve got no legal knowledge but it doesn’t make sense to me. If you allow content to be shared on social networks, it should be okay to use the text here and include a link to the original site. But that’s just my personal opinion. It would certainly be possible to ask for the website owner’s permission.

I believe that at least content from books shouldn’t be a problem considering the fact that the internet is full of extracts from various kinds of books ( Wikipedia for example ) so I think we shouldn’t worry when we add texts from different textbooks , manuals or any other written works by other people .

@Madara