I'd like to be fluent

Hi all, I’ve been studying German off and on for almost five years now. I’m not nearly as competent as I should be, but that’s because I haven’t really been consistent with it (hence the “off and on”). I used to live in Germany–now I live in the States.

I know it’s not going to happen overnight, but my overall goal is to achieve a very high level of fluency in German–I want to be able to understand virtually everything I hear, comprehend most all I read, and express myself without any hindrance in speaking. You see what I mean. :slight_smile:

In essence, I’d like to achieve a near-native fluency in the language. My question is, how much should I be studying a day? How much should I be listening? Reading? Writing? Should I analytically dissect most every text I come across or be more passive about it?

Maybe I’m being too “intellectual” about this, but I’d be so thankful to anyone who can help me! Grüsse aus den USA^^

My 2 cents. Do as much as you have time for and enjoy doing. Make your motivation to read certain writers, to listen to certain kinds of content, in order to learn more about Germany, German things and things in general through your German. Don’t be too fixated on achieving specific language goals, although these things can be motivating, instead just focus on enjoying the language.

The more you write and speak, the better you will do. This will push you, and enable you to see your gaps.

Try to be attentive to those aspects of the language that give you trouble, your gaps, but don’t force yourself to get them right. They’ll right themselves eventually.

A minimum of one hour a day.

Question: Does it matter if I spread out my hour over a whole day–e.g. 10 min. here, 15 there, another 30 min. there–or do I have to do it all in one sitting?

Thanks so much for your answers! This’ll be really helpful to me.:slight_smile: