Icelandic beginner podcasts

Hello!

I can’t find any specific forum for Icelandic, so I hope it’s okey that I write here.

I’m looking for a beginner podcast for Icelandic, does anyone know of that? I can only find One MInute Icelandic on spotify, but does anyone know if there exists any with longer episodes?

Best regards,
Carl

2 Likes

I don’t know of any. I try to get any material that is in text and speech form into LingQ, but there is both a lack of material overall and a lot of material that I don’t have permission to put into LingQ. Sometimes I have material that is only in text or only in speech form that I have permission to use (or was even made by myself) and then there can be a lot of work involved in creating the missing text or speech. I made a few episodes of what is called “Einfalt eintal” in LingQ, which I suppose you could listen to, but it’s just a few episodes and may be a bit difficult if you are a complete beginner.

4 Likes

Depending on your level, this might help you learn. Simple children’s books that also have audio where someone has read them: Bókaskápur

3 Likes

Thank you! I’m very much in the beginning, but I’m Swedish so when I have text/subtitles I can understand a lot, and a lot of the videos etc on lingq are super good. But for podcast I would need (want) something that’s much slower.
I would like to take the moment to thank you for all the things you’ve added to Lingq, I’ve had much joy from reading Àlagardálurinn and Leiðarvísir í ástamálum!
And thanks for the link to Bókskápur too, I will check it out!

4 Likes

Unfortunately I do not have permission to put the mms.is material into LingQ. I’m working on it but the copyrights/author’s rights are complicated. Hopefully it will work out in the future. Depending on your level of Icelandic, there should be some e-books, audio books and books in both audio and text form, as well as interactive e-books (often with audio) here at this link. Rafbókaskápur | Menntamálastofnun